‘Astanga’ meaning

What does Astanga Yoga mean?

 Astanga Yoga literally means “eight-limbed yoga”, this path was outlined by the ancient sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. Patanjali divides the path of internal purification for revealing the Universal Self into eight spiritual practices:Primary Series at LOOSEYoga

  1. Yamas – moral codes
  2. Niyamas – self purification and study
  3. Asana – posture
  4. Pranayama – breath control
  5. Pratyahara – sense control
  6. Dharana – concentration
  7. Dhyana – meditation
  8. Samadhi – absorption into the Universal

For more information, ask one of our teachers or click on the links below: